Humanity

Simply Sweet

After a lot of frustration and challenges, I was reassured thanks to a student’s kind words today.

Today I took small groups aside to work on the pretest that they had missed. It was nice to have them in that ideal small group setting, but it would be impossible if it wasn’t for having two teachers in our classroom.

After they completed the test, I helped them catch up on the review questions from the chapter. During one of these little session, it was just myself and one girl. She was working on the worksheet and I was working on grading and other prep work.

She turned to me and said, “So are you actually a teacher?”

“I’m working on my masters degree to become one.”

“Oh, well, I think you’ll be really good at it,” she replied with a smile.

I smiled back, “I hope so.”

I don’t think she will ever understand how much those simple statements mean to me.

Those words keep me going through the toughest of trials.

Thanks, kid.

Leave a Reply

